Government of the Commonwealth of Dominica

Notice: By-Election for member of the Roseau City Council



By-Election for member of the Roseau City Council

Ward (III)



The general public is informed that the undermentioned persons are appointed Election Officers for a By- Election in Ward III of the Roseau City Council, scheduled for Wednesday, July 5, 2023, pursuant to Section 35 (1) of the Roseau City Council Act, Chap 25:01 of the Revised Laws of Dominica, 1990 Edition:


Returning Officer

Miss. Genevieve Guye

22 Rose Street, Goodwill

Assistant Returning Officer

Miss Carla Letang




Nomination day is Thursday, June 15, 2023. On that day, prospective candidates must obtain the nomination papers from the Returning Officer, between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. at the Alpha Centre Conference Room, Mc Intyre Lane, Goodwill.


Every candidate for the election, must be nominated in writing on the nomination paper by six (6) electors qualified to vote in Ward III.


The person nominated must consent to the nomination in writing, on the nomination paper. The said nomination paper must be handed to the Returning Officer no later than 4:00 p.m. on nomination day.


A candidate for the election or someone on his behalf must deposit with the Returning Officer on or before the date of his nomination, the sum of one hundred and twenty dollars ($120.00) in cash, and if he fails to do so, he shall be deemed to have withdrawn.


Any person whose name appears on the register of voters for the city may object to the nomination of any candidate for the election, as not being duly qualified, and the Returning Officer shall decide the validity of the objection.


In the event of the poll being contested, the poll will take place between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, July 5, 2023.


The preliminary counting of the votes will take place after the close of the poll and the results announced from the office of the Returning Officer at the Alpha Centre Conference Room, Mc Intyre Lane, Goodwill.


The final count will take place at the Electoral Office, on

Thursday, July 6, 2023 at 9:00 a.m.





Chief Elections Officer